States of Reform: Governing Selangor and Penang

Published by: Genta Media Sdn. Bhd.

states of reform cover

This compilation of articles critically examines the policies and programmes of the Pakatan Rakyat state governments in Penang and Selangor from 2008 to 2012. The articles are culled from former Research Officer to the Selangor Menteri Besar Tricia Yeoh’s monthly column in the Penang Economic Monthly magazine (now Penang Monthly), also named ‘States of Reform’.
A rare comparison between two similar states, the book examines the last four years’ worth of programmes and efforts, as the yardstick by which Pakatan Rakyat’s potential as a future federal government can be measured.
Click here to purchase the book from Genta Media at RM28.00

The Road to Reform: Pakatan Rakyat in Selangor

Published by: Gerakbudaya Enterprise

Road to Reform cover

The general election of March 2008 marked an unprecedented moment in modern Malaysian political history. Voters turned away in significant numbers from the Barisan Nasional government that had exercised almost absolute authority at both federal and state levels since independence. Selangor was one of five state governments to come under the control of the newly-formed Pakatan Rakyat coalition-explicitly committed to a new politics and a reformist policy agenda. The Road to Reform is the first comprehensive introduction to the reform experience in Selangor. Organized around four core aspects of change – politics, economics, society and culture – the authors focus on both the achievements and the enduring difficulties in delivering on Pakatan Rakyat’s ambitions. This concise and accessible book should be compulsory reading for anyone concerned with the policies and politics of change and the state of Malaysia at a critically important crossroads.

Edited by Tricia Yeoh, with authors comprising Dr. Syed Husin Ali, Mustafa Kamal, Dr. Ooi Kee Beng, Dr. Wong Chin Huat, YB Khalid Samad, YB Tony Pua, YB Dr. Dzulkefly Ahmad, Mavis Puthucheary, Yeo Yang Poh, Prof. Aziz Bari, Dr. Farouk Musa, Dr. Ong Kian Ming, Rev. Sivin Kit, Sieh Mei Ling, Fahda Nur, Yong Poh Kon, Gurmit Singh, Colin Nicholas, Barjoyai Bardai, Andrew Khoo, and Abigail De Vries.

Click here to purchase the book from Gerakbudaya at RM80.00